Something To Say
Patricia Belyea of Okan Arts
Something To Say
Sample Quilt from Something To Say Workshop with Patricia Belyea of Okan Arts
Sample Quilt from Something To Say Workshop with Patricia Belyea of Okan Arts
Sample Quilt from Something To Say Workshop with Patricia Belyea of Okan Arts
Designer Facing sample from Something To Say Workshop with Patricia Belyea of Okan Arts

Something To Say

Regular price$395.00
/

  • 15 in stock

Workshop B

SEP | OCT | NOV 2022

Five 3-hour sessions, every two weeks
Instructor: Patricia Belyea

Workshop A and Workshop B are exactly the same except for the Workshop times.

NORTH AMERICA
Tuesdays: Sep 6, Sep 20, Oct 11, Oct 25, Nov 8
Hawaii Noon-3pm* | Alaska 2pm-5pm | Pacific 3pm-6pm | Mountain 4pm-7pm | Central 5pm-8pm | Eastern 6pm-9pm 

AUSTRALIA | NEW ZEALAND
Wednesdays: Sep 7, Sep 21, Oct 12, Oct 26, Nov 9
AU West 6am-9am* | AU East 8am-11am* | NZST 10am-1pm*
*Time change during workshop 

Communicating through quilts has always been a rich part of our stitching tradition. ​In this online workshop, you learn to add names, words, and messages to your quilt designs—both hidden and bold. You start by exploring four lettering techniques and finish with a full session on Designer Facings.

Messaging techniques include: Matchstick Madness, Stitch & Flip 2.0, Happy-Go-Lucky Letters, and Cursive Celtic Knotwork.

The final session explores a full range of Designer Facings: Courthouse Columns, Pinwheels, Bordered, Corner Blocks, and Curved.

The workshop challenges you to think creatively as you learn new skills. Besides attending the workshop, you have two weeks to work on your projects before you get your next assignment. (Between Session 2 and 3, you have three weeks to complete your homework!)

No Japanese textiles are needed for this workshop.

WORKSHOP LIMITED TO 26 STUDENTS

To see Workshop A +click here

You totally blew me away with this class. It really challenged me and often in ways I had not expected. Anne G


My head is full of inspiration, skills, ideas and freedom to create from the experience of being in your class. Sally C


You lead THE BEST CLASS! Simply can’t say that loudly enough. That you are an artist is great however that you are an artist who is also a gifted teacher is unusual. I have benefited from your class way beyond my expectations. WAY beyond. Darcy S


I wanted to say thank you for the class. It was such a pleasure to feel your organization and love of your subject. You are a master. Rosalie M

You are a competent quilter and are able to:

- to sew and understand quilting terms

- attend a Zoom event with a device larger than a mobile phone, such as an iPad or laptop

- photograph your homework assignments and upload your photos to a private online space (not Facebook) or email your photos to Patricia to upload. A smart phone is perfect for taking your photos.

Patricia Belyea started her design career as a calligrapher. When Patricia discovered quilting, later in life, she had found her calling. The Something To Say workshop combines her two loves—lettering and textiles.

Patricia is known for her well-organized, step-by-step teaching, as well as her penchant for sharing everything she knows about quilt design and construction.

Through her online workshops, Patricia has reached students in every corner of North America, as well as around the world—from Mozambique to the eastern shores of Australia.

If you have a schedule change before the Workshop begins and Okan Arts can fill your space, you will receive a full refund less a $50 service fee. Once the Workshop begins, there are no refunds for missing any or all of the sessions. 

This workshop is as much about stretching yourself creatively as learning a new skill set.

- Don't measure yourself against anyone else

- Smile while you work on your projects

- Keep sewing

You may also like


Recently viewed